You are here


PsyPAG Award Requirements

Psychologist of the Year Award


Any full time, active duty, USPHS Commissioned Officer Psychologist. One awardee will be chosen each year for each award. The Chair, Chair-Elect and Secretary of the Psychologist professional Advisory Group (PsyPAG) are not eligible to compete.


Nominations may be made by civil servants or commissioned Officers who are familiar with the officer's accomplishments. For these two awards, psychologists are described as those within the HSO or Scientist Category who are classified by the Corps as a psychologist with advanced graduate degrees in psychology and/or State licensure/certification as a psychologist, and who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments.


Candidates must demonstrate:

  1. Exceptional leadership ability;
  2. Exemplary service/officership;
  3. A positive United States Public Health Service (USPHS) professional image; and
  4. The officers must have met one of the following criteria:
    • A specific notable accomplishment that impacts the public health, science, or practice of psychology.
    • Sustained high quality work performance demonstrated by significant accomplishments and/or leadership over time in an important public health field related to psychology, mental health, or behavioral health.
    • Technical, scientific and/or other professional contributions that are significant to a specific office, center, bureau, or agency or USPHS mission.
Submission Package

A complete submission package consists of the following:

  1. A narrative that answers the three areas above and is no longer than two pages.
  2. Curriculum Vitae of the nominee.
  3. Screen capture verifying basic readiness

  4. Narrative: Provide a supportive narrative that answers the following three areas, using 12 point Times New Roman font, one inch margins, double spaced and not more than two pages. Please assure that the nominee’s name and PHS # is on each page.

    1. State the reason for the nomination.
    2. Describe how the nominee demonstrated one or more of the three criteria mentioned above over the course of their USPHS career.
    3. Describe recognizable contributions the nominee has made to the USPHS and how he/she brought about substantial professional impact/results.
Selection Process
  1. The PsyPAG Awards Subcommittee will score and rank the award nomination packages based on how the nominee met the above criteria.
  2. The selection of the recipients for the Early Career and Senior Career Psychologist Achievement Awards by the appointed subcommittee is final.
  3. Once the awardees are selected, the names will be forwarded to the PsyPAG Chair.
  4. The awardees will be notified by the PsyPAG Chair.
    • The awards will be presented to the awardees at the annual USPHS Scientific and Training Symposium.
    • The awardees must fund his/her TDY costs to attend the annual USPHS Scientific and Training Symposium.
    • In the event the awardees cannot attend the USPHS Scientific and Training Symposium, the awards will be mailed to the awardees and then presented during a PsyPAG call.
  5. The awards will consist of a plaque and congratulatory letter.

List of Awardees

Year Recipients
2015 Senior Career Award: CAPT Nicole Frazer
2015 Early Career Award: LCDR Sara Pulliam
2014 Senior Career Award: CDR Anne Dobmeyer
2014 Early Career Award: LCDR Seth Green
2013 Senior Career Award: CDR Jeffrey Goodie
2013 Early Career Award: LCDR Robin Toblin
2012 CDR Christopher Hunter
2011 LCDR Rick Schobitz
2010 CDR Dennis Slate
2009 CDR Dennis Slate, Psy.D
2008 LCDR Mike Tilus, Psy.D
2007 Dr. David McIntyre
2006 Dr. Chris Bersani and Dr. Jon Perez